In Pennsylvania, DUI-related charges can earn you some very hefty penalties if you end up being convicted. These penalties only increase if it isn’t your first DUI. Marinaro Law Firm is here to help by providing you with facts and information that can be used to handle your recent DUI charge.
The first thing that you should know is that Pennsylvania raises its penalties depending on how many DUI-related convictions you’ve had in the past. For example, if you already have one prior conviction, you will face:
- 12 months of license suspension
- A maximum of $2,500 in fines
- An ignition interlock for up to one year
- Up to six months in jail
- Completion of alcohol safety or other treatment programs
Additionally, your misdemeanor charge will be upgraded. This is quite a leap compared to a first-time offense, which only has a maximum fine of $300 and up to 6 months of probation.
If you’re facing a third DUI-related charge or higher, the penalties will continue to climb. Your charge will be categorized as a second degree misdemeanor. Your fine could be up to $5000, and your time in jail could increase to a maximum of two years. The completion of treatment programs may still be required. The ignition interlock will remain on your car for a maximum of a year and your license will still be suspended for 12 months.
Knowing what to do if you have a prior DUI offense is crucial to how you handle your current case. Our web page on DUI-related charges, linked here, can provide you with more insight into what your next legal move could be.