If you are a Pennsylvania gun enthusiast, you need to be aware that you are prohibited from owning certain types of guns in our state. Per FindLaw, the Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence ranks Pennsylvania as the 10th strictest gun law state in the nation.
Under Pennsylvania law, the following types of guns are illegal:
- Sawed-off shotguns
- Machine guns
- Guns with an altered manufacturer’s number
- Guns with silencers
- Guns that are made or adapted for concealment
You must be at least 18 years old to own all other types of guns in Pennsylvania. While you do not need a license to openly carry a gun in a holster or other visible place, you need a License to Carry Firearms permit if you wish to carry a concealed weapon. You must be at least 21 years old to obtain an LICF permit and must apply for one in the county in which you live.
Reasons you cannot own a gun
There are many reasons why you cannot own a gun in Pennsylvania, including the following:
- You were convicted of having committed a violent crime
- You were convicted of three DUIs within five years
- You were convicted of being a habitual drunkard or drug addict
- You are an undocumented immigrant
- You are a fugitive
In addition, you cannot own a gun if you are under a protection from abuse order. Likewise, you cannot own one if a court has declared you mentally ill. This is general information only and is not intended to provide legal advice.