In a recent post, we indicated that a report suggested the penalties for drunk driving in Pennsylvania are not harsh enough. But, is that really so? Anyone who has been arrested and charged with an impaired operation offense may think otherwise, especially if the offense comes after a previous conviction. Let’s take a look at what may happen to you if you are arrested for a second DUI in Pennsylvania.

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation explains that the penalties for a second DUI may vary based upon your blood alcohol content at the time of your arrest. Regardless of your BAC, you may be subject to having your driver’s license suspended, spending time in jail and paying a fine. The length of time you will be without your driver’s license or in jail or the amount of money you may be required to pay may, however, increase based upon your BAC level. The increases in these areas may hit if your BAC is 0.10 percent or higher and again if your BAC is 0.16 percent or higher.

Offenses involving BAC levels between 0.08 and 0.159 percent are treated as ungraded misdemeanors. Offenses involving BAC levels of 0.16 percent and higher are treated as first degree misdemeanors. For any second DUI conviction you may also be required to use an ignition interlock device and attend special alcohol safety or treatment programs.

This information is not intended to provide legal advice but is rather meant to give Pennsylvania residents an overview of the types of penalties that they may experience if convicted of a second drunk driving offense.