Pennsylvania Assault Laws

There are 2 categories of assault charges in Pennsylvania: Simple Assault and Aggravated Assault. Within those categories, assaults are further broken down into who the crime was committed against and the seriousness of the assault.

Simple Assault is a typical one that does not result in serious injury. In fact, it doesn't have to result in any injury at all. You can be charged with simple assault without even touching anyone. Simple Assault can result in holding a weapon and threatening someone or attempting to hit someone with a vehicle.

In most case Simple Assault is graded as an M-2 and carries up to 2 years in prison. If it involves a fight that both parties entered into mutually, it is graded as a M-3 and carries up to 1 year in prison. If the Simple Assault is against a child under the age of 12, it is considered a M-1 and can result in 5 years behind bars.

Felony Assault, or Aggravated Assault is considered a violent crime and carries harsh penalties. When Aggravated Assault is committed an serious bodily injury is caused by acting in an extreme indifference to human life or if it's against a police officer or similar public safety individual its graded as an F-1, punishable by up to 20 years in jail.

Aggravated Assaults are further broken down into F-2, and F-3 based on the severity of the crime.

Contact us immediately should you believe you may be charged with an assault and/or if you have been charged. My office has a great amount of experience and success in dealing with assault crimes.